As the countdown to the 15th Akwaaba African Travel Market gathers momentum, organizers of the leading tourism expo from this side of the continent have unveiled a more comprehensive list of winners of the African Travel 100 Global Tourism Personalities Awards. The organizers have also revealed plans for the launch of a global African Diaspora tourism association during the expo.

The 2019 Akwaaba African Travel Market is set to host the 1st African Tourism Diaspora Conference 2019 as part of the celebration of the Year of Return in commemoration of 400 years when the first slave ship docked in America with slaves from Africa in 1619. The conference will feature notable African and African Diaspora speakers and will precede the award ceremony which is scheduled for September 23rd 2019 at the Eko Hotels & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos.

Below is the list of some winners of African Travel 100 Global Tourism Personalities


  • Edmund Barlett – Jamaica’s Minister of Tourism
  • Rosemary Sadlier – Promoting Black Cultural Heritage in Canada
  • Dr. Eugene Franklin – Chairman, Pan African Cultural Heritage Institute.
  • Diallo Sumbry – First Ambassador of African-America Tourism to Ghana.
  • Carol Hay – Director of Marketing Caribbean Tourism Organisation, UK & Europe.
  • Prof. Thomas Mensah – Pioneer in fibre Optic technology, Author “The Right Stuff Comes in Black Too”
  • Fabien Anthony – Chairman & Co-Founder Pan-African Council
  • Kitty Pope – Creator, Africa Diaspora World Tourism Awards
  • Eric Martin & Kent Johnson – Founders, Black and Abroad
  • Cherae Robinson – Founder Tastemakers Africa
  • Macaulay Kalu – Chairman, African Union 6th Region.
  • Dr. Arikana Chihombori-Quao – African Union Ambassador to the U.S
  • Carolyn Anderson – Founder, Beyond All Borders.
  • Danny Rivers Mitchell – Founders Black Girls Travel Too
  • Kumi Rauf – CEO, I Love Being Black
  • Jessica Nabongo – Founder/CEO, Jet Black
  • Rozan Ahmed – Cultural Institute Creative Writer


  • Rohan Vos – Owner of Rovos Rail (South Africa)
  • Frank Nneji – Owner of ABC Transport (Nigeria)


  • Tewolde Gabrielmariam – GCEO of Ethiopian Airlines
  • Rahel Assefa – VP Ethiopian Airlines, Africa’s Top Ranked Lady Aviator
  • Chief Allen Onyema – Chairman Air Peace, Africa’s biggest Privately Owned Airline.
  • Captain Solomon Quianoo – Africa’s Top A380 Pilot (Ghana)
  • Chief Togbe Afede – Chairman Africa World Airlines
  • Girma Wake – Former CEO, Ethiopian Airlines
  • Mr. Valentine Tongo – CEO, Allied Air
  • Captain Edward Boyo – MD, Overland Airways
  • Captain Ado Sanusi – CEO, Aero Contractor

Past African Legend of Travel Winners

  • Waturi Wa Matu – Travel Professional (Kenya)
  • Captain Desta Zeru – First African Captain of B787 Dreamliner (Ethiopia)
  • Captain Irene Koki Mutungi – Africa’s Top Female Pilot (Kenya)
  • Kumnegger Teketel – MICE Promoter and Event Organiser (Ethiopia)

Tourism Media

  • Wolfgang Thome – online Publisher, ATC News
  • Jason Njoku – Publisher & Promoter, IROKO TV Nigeria
  • Nick Fadugba – Publisher, African Aviation

Tourism Administration

  • Najib Balala – Tourism Minister Kenya and CAF UNWTO President
  • Elsia Grandcourt – Africa Representative UNWTO. (Seychelles)
  • Alain St. Ange – Former Minister of Tourism Seychelles
  • Ambassador Dr. Erieka Bennett – Head of Mission Diaspora African Forum
  • Eiman Kheir – Head of Diaspora Division, Citizens & Diaspora Organisations, AU.
  • Stella Fubara – Director, International Operations Africa, Dubai Tourism
  • Adama Bah – Founder, West African Branch, International Centre for Responsible Tourism

Hospitality/Facility owners

  • Ato Tadiwos Belete – Kuriftu Resort (Ethiopia)
  • Tony Elumelu – Chairman Transcorp Hotels (Nigeria)
  • Oskar Ibru – Ibru Organisations leading Hospitality investor (Nigeria)
  • Professor Nzamujo – Proprietor Songhai integrated Agricultural Centre (Benin)
  • Mr. Samih Sawiris – Proprietor El Gouna Resort. (Egypt)
  • Joe Osawaye – Managing Partner, KIZA Tomorrow Africa

Travel Business

  • Julie Dabaly Scott – Managing Director, Carlson Wagonlit Travel
  • Femi Adefope – Nigeria Travel Business Owner (HRG, CWT, GHI, APG)
  • Richard Akerele – Logistics and Airlines Support Services (ASL Newrest)
  • Taiwo Afolabi – Chairman, SIFAX Airport Logistics
  • Sijabuliso Thabani Biyan – Board Chairman, Rainbow Tourism Group

Tour Operations

  • Zainab Anseil – CEO, Zara Tours Tanzania
  • Uloma Egbuna – Tour Brokers International, Emirate Holidays, Royal Caribbean (Nigeria)
  • Amos Wekesa – MD, Great Lakes Safaris Limited

MICE Promoters

  • Governor Ben Ayade – Organizer Carnival Calabar
  • Rick Taylor – MICE Expert (South Africa)
  • Rabbi Kohan – Executive Director Panafest (Ghana)
  • Tom Kunkler – Organiser Kilifair and S!TE (Tanzania)
  • Senator Florence Ita-Giwa – Band leader, Carnival Calabar

Heritage & Culture

  • Professor Zahi Hawass – Egyptologist and Former Curator of the Heritage of the Pharaohs
  • Ooni of Ife, HRM Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi – Promoter of Olojo Festival
  • Emir of Kano, HRH Sanusi Lamido Sanusi – Custodian of Kano Walls and Durbar Festival
  • HRM Omo N’Oba N’Edo Ewuare II – Custodian of Benin Moat and Igue Festival
  • Obi of Onitsha, HRM Nnaemeka Alfred Achebe – Ofala Festival
  • King of Eswatini, HRM Mswati II – Reeds Dance Umhlanga Festival
  • Otumfuo Osei Tutu II – AKwasidae Festival (Kumasi, Ghana)
  • Otunba Olusegun Runsewe – Director-General, National Council For Arts and Culture (NCAC)
  • Stephen Rwangyezi – Founder, Ndere Cultural Centre, Kampala, Uganda
  • Ms Sthembiso Dlamini – COO, South African Tourism


Niyi David

‘Niyi David is a travel writer/photographer and Editor-in-Chief at More Cream Than Coffee. Previously, he worked at Afro Tourism West Africa Ltd as a travel writer, and was Head of Media and C.O.O. before leaving in May 2018. Prior to that he had worked as scriptwriter on some major media projects in Nigeria, such as 'Peak Talent Show' and the Ford Foundation sponsored 'Stop Impunity in Nigeria' campaign.